Emma Stone Inspired Look

phototasticcollage-2016-12-15-15-22-22

I was scrolling through the Vogue app the other day on my phone, and saw this article about Emma Stone’s makeup (http://www.vogue.com/13510651/emma-stone-holiday-lala-land-makeup-blue-eyeliner/). If you look closely she’s got purple on her upper lashline and a black/purple to blue gradient on the lower lashline, with a sparkly inner corner highlight. I immediately wanted to try to recreate it! I had so much fun looking through my collection for shades that would mimic her makeup and I think, in the end, it turned out pretty well for a cold run. I think I might try to wear this again at some point, and will probably look better because I won’t have to make it up as I go along.

Face:

dsc04236

I started with my face, although looking back, I definitely should have done my eyes first. I applied two layers of my Nars All Day Luminous with a Beauty Blender and then applied my Too Faced Born this Way Concealer under my eyes, down the bridge of my nose, and on any spots that needed more coverage. I set both of these areas with It Cosmetics Bye Bye Pores Translucent Powder and then started to work on the cheeks. First, because I’ve gained a bit of weight lately and Emma Stone has amazing cheekbones, I did a bit of contouring with MAC’s Sculpt Powder in Bone Beige. I’ve never been a fan of a lot of contour on my face shape, so I tried to keep it as natural as possible. Then, to get the light peachy/beigey/coppery cheeks, I used MAC’s Margin Blush with a bit of Becca’s highlighter in Rose Gold over it and on some of the high points of my face. I then used Becca’s Opal as my legit highlighter and then blended over the entire cheek area with my powder brush to soften the pigment and glow.

Here’s the finished face (the lighting isn’t the best though…):

file-dec-15-2-17-44-pm

Eyes:

dsc04214

dsc04121

For the eyes I started by priming them and setting them with face powder to create an even base. Then I took Urban Decay’s 24/7 Liner in Vice on my upper lashline. I tried to do a slight wing like Emma Stone had in her photo, but I over did it sightly. I then put Inglot’s eyeshadow in 439 to blend and smudge it a bit.

dsc04125After this I started to work on the lower lashline. I took a black pencil liner (I used one by Sephora, but any would do – I wish I had used my Urban Decay one instead though) and ran it along the outer third and the entire waterline. Then I took a Rimmel Scandaleyes liner in Turquoise  and put that on the middle third. This was a little too blue, so next time I would go for a lighter or purpler shade. I also took this opportunity to put MAC’s Blanc Type on my upper lid between the crease and the liner, and MAC’s Kid in the crease. I can’t really tell how Emma Stone’s upper lid looked from that picture, so I figured that was a safe bet.

dsc04127

Finally, I put Inglot’s shadow in 429 over the blue Rimmel liner. This is a periwinkle shade – it’s a light shade that looks blue in some light and purple in others. I then used MAC’s pigment in White Gold to mimic the glittery/shimmery inner corner. I also placed it over the purple liner lightly because it looked like it was there in the picture (if you zoom in a lot). I also put more of Inglot 439 over the black on the outer third of the lower lashline.

I added mascara and brow gel and here’s the finished eye look:

dsc04134

dsc04133
If I smile, you can see the resemblance to her eyes in the photo (because she’s also smiling).
dsc04131
Here you can see the finished eyes and cheeks

Lips:

She has a very nude, shimmery lip. I couldn’t match this exactly, but I tried by liner the outer edges with MAC’s lip pencil in Dervish and then softening it. I followed with a MAC lipstick in Peach Blossom (I talked about this in my Ride or Die Tag here). It wasn’t sparkly enough and was looking a bit too cool compared to her lips (although I think her lipstick looks cooler on my computer now that it did when I was looking at the picture on my phone when I was applying the makeup), so I added Anastasia Beverly Hill’s lipgloss in Sunset Strip (review here).

So my camera has a habit of making lip product look super orange in pictures, so I did my best to counter act it. Also the lighting wasn’t the best because by the time I had finished, the sun had gone down (I started around 3pm).

Final Look:


Leave a comment